Draw on your wall… because why not?

I’ve been needing to deal with my bathroom for about a year. Last year we had to rip out our beloved soaking tub because it was leaking into the ceiling and rotting out the floor and of course we had to rip out a chunk of wall and trim to get the tub out. So for almost a year it’s been a mess of raw patched drywall and mud. The bathroom also hadn’t been painted in 10 years… but it has a two story ceiling on one wall and I just didn’t want to tackle it but now I really needed to. At the same time I’ve been itching to do a really dark purple and grey room and I could never talk any of my design clients into it so it was on me to rock it out. The other factor: I’ve been working on converting a retail space into a coffee shop and thinking about signage and chalk walls and in talking with that client I sent him to check out tanamachi studios for ideas. I’ve always loved her work but watching her video of writing on the walls with paint markers was like getting the best bitch slap in the face EVER! Holy shit why hadn’t I ever thought of that! It’s like the best custom wallpaper without spending serious bucks or serious time hanging and cutting… just buy yourself some paint markers and go to town.. If you don’t like it just paint that shit again and start over, no harm no foul…. so what the hell are you waiting for?

Paint colors were Ralph Lauren Embassy Purple RL2051 & Hue & Cry RL1132, the swatches look off to me the purple is almost black but…

I started by painting 3 of the walls in the grey and the wall behind the toilet and sink in the purple (I let my daughter stay home from a half day at school if she helped me as I didn’t want to fall off the 6 foot ladder without anyone home and you know, child labor and you gotta train them these skills). I let the paint dry for two days before I started. I went to Michaels and picked up 2 paint markers in a dark grey for doing the drawing, I was thinking silver too so I picked up a couple silver Sharpies but in the end I thought it might be too flashy and went with the grey. I googled for patterns for a bit, black and white nature, paisley, tattoo designs, fabric designs. I decided to go with something that was not regimented or math based, because I know myself and I’m not going to spend any time measuring anything but you totally could grid something out with chalk and do a repeat pattern…. but I went for down and dirty free hand nature pattern, I started on the floor behind the toilet so if I hated it and had to repaint it wouldn’t be in the middle of the wall!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The project took around 4 hours total and 4 pens to complete. So that was a $25 cost but still so much cheaper than wallpaper and if I hate it next year I can just paint over it, no peeling old paper off… plus I got to draw on the walls!

wall side closeup

wall burst

wow checkout that flash burst!

Leave a Reply

